Archive for June 25th, 2008

A Spider Funeral.
June 25, 2008

  “We need heart to heart resuscitation.”

Ram Dass

 What are you reading, today? After finishing The Diddakoi by Rumer Godden, I’m now reading another novel of hers, An Episode of Sparrows.

If she were still alive, I’d send her a fan letter and thank her for her wonderful mind.

Much like oxygen, food and water are necessary to survival, so are words and thoughts and books. I believe books can change people, and therefore, the world. Also, sometimes that better world we wish for can be found inside the minds of our favorite writers, and that’s something. It isn’t everything, but it’s a lot.

Really, aren’t we all writers, now? Especially with the advent of email, instant messages and text messaging, we live on a planet of writers. We all get a taste of creativity each time we peck out the letters and hit “send”.

Maybe even, sometimes, things happen to us for the sole purpose of being written down. For instance, waking up on top of a large spider, now a spider-pancake, with two dismembered legs stuck to your own leg. (It was a spider minding its own business, most likely, having burrowed under the covers while I was out flaking horses or getting the mail, on a quest for warmth in the frosty, air-conditioned bedroom.)

Or, how about the panty-liner flying out the front door, (you know that’s not what those wings are for), getting mixed-up with a pre-monsoon wind only to end its journey stuck to the leg of the UPS man?

Let me backtrack: some people say terriers are difficult to housetrain; for mine, that’s true. I found these nifty potty pants (or, “big-boy pants” as we tell the dogs) which they sleep in at night. For ongoing potty-training and a clean house, this product is a godsend. Called “Simple Solution”, they wrap around the offending part and stay snugly in place thanks to a velcro closure.

Inside, you fit an absorbent pad to circumvent any accidents, but those pads are a lot less expensive if you buy women’s generic panty-liners, instead. And so goes the story of the flying panty-liner, the blushing UPS man and the quick explanation he most likely thought I’d made up like fiction, on the spot.

I’ll save the story of the relocation of seven desert toads for next time. In the meantime, this site is only two days old, spanking new and full of promise. With all there is in the world to demand our time and attention, you’re here, reading? Thank you. I’ll keep you here in spirit, too, at the spider funeral at sundown. Who knew a silver-blue earring box could make such a fitting coffin?

Welcome to my blog!
June 25, 2008

 “How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.”

Anne Frank

What I hope my penchant for writing becomes, is a catalyst — a catalyst for thinking, and a welcome intrusion that breaks down the walls that separate us from each other. If you see something differently, or experience an epiphany from some thought pinned down on these pages, then my wish has come true.

From a very young age, I’ve been fascinated with the parallel universes that unfold through the books we read. Books serve so many wonderful purposes: taking us off to places we never imagined, and never forget; opening our eyes; making us laugh, cry, and think; doubling as teachers; offering us guidance; besides bringing us love, comfort, beauty, wisdom, and truth. Books are such good company; the magic between the pages of a good book is one of those rare, sure things in life. 

Life has been hectic, lately, for so many of us. In this fast-paced world of worry and work, wars and natural disasters (along with the smaller, inevitable, every day kinds) stress can be like the houseguest who never leaves. A good book is like balm.

A few days ago, and in celebration of having finished my own novel, I went on a book-binge; one of the books I ordered, The Diddakoi, by Rumer Godden, I hadn’t read since childhood. Excitedly haunting the window in anticipation of the UPS man, and having read the Reader’s Digest Condensed Books version years ago, I was even happier knowing I’d be reading parts and passages not included previously. 

Unwrapping the package and smelling the old, old pages, I lovingly placed the book on my night table and went about feeding the dogs and the horses, my husband and myself, along with other odd jobs such as folding the laundry, mopping the kitchen and filling horses’ water buckets. Finally, with the dogs worn out and snoring under the covers, I settled in to read my newest treasure.    

Engrossed, I read the entire 148 pages in one sitting, staying up late like when I was a girl. I fell in love again with the crisp writing style and emotionally smart story which pulls on the heartstrings. Propped up against the pillows, I cried on and off all the way to the end. Finally looking up and catching myself in the mirror across the room, I had to laugh at myself. I may have even hugged the book close, as the magical ride came to an end. 

Now, that’s good therapy, at $5.95 for three hours. The best writers pull us into a world that often fills those empty places within us, including the ones we didn’t know existed. Who knew books had so much power? (We do, we do!)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,670 other followers