The Antidote To Query Road Rage.

Is writing. No need to wax poetic or beat around the bush. I just wanted to mention how much I love the irony. It’s a humorous irony, at that.

Anything that turns life into the feeling of being a blessed child of a benevolent universe, singing happy songs at the top of your lungs and pounding out pages befitting a creative genius, or, just feeling like that for one amazing, glorious moment, is a lucky, lucky thing.

Happy down Query Road? Worth a King’s ransom. Two Kings’ ransoms. The whole point of it in the first place. Writing. Creating. Flow. Creating and changing worlds.  

So, I chugged the antidote yesterday, turning to writing as the cure for rejected writing, and when I realized what was happening, I was “saved”. From myself. I felt in tune, again, with that wonderful, hard-earned fact: I am a writer. I’m a writer, again. And I decide what that means, you know, and it has nothing to do with publishing.

It’s a calming, anchoring realization.

And it becomes an important question: if you were a writer who wanted to be published, would you continue to be a writer who wasn’t or couldn’t?

Going first, I’d have to say YES. Maybe throwing a few private tantrums from time to time, but the overall truth is that writing isn’t a choice, it just is; it just has to, is part of you, befalls you, chooses you. You can’t help it. That’s writing.

It’s wonderful, crazy and magical, just as it should be.

 

sometimes the best maps  

are the ones thrown out the window, 

throwing out the worry as well,

letting go and not asking why or where,

mindful to enjoy the ride,

buckled in and flying at the same time.

 

Might as well make the best of it, you lucky writer, you. And I’m grateful there are so many of us, to bolster each other’s spirits during the sometimes-bumpier ride of Query Road.      

12 Responses

  1. Good points. I agree that continuing to do what you love –writing — helps overcome some of the frustration of Query Road (which I stil haven’t set upon). It’s like rolling down the windows, blasting the stereo, and singing along to whatever your favorite tune is; it makes a long road trip easier to bear.

    But to answer your question about writing if you couldn’t be published, I’m doubtful I could continue to devote as much time to it as I do now. Yes, part of me would always write for “therapy reasons”, but I would probably limit my scribbling to a journal. Writing for publication, however, would have to move to the backseat as real life keeps reminding of all the balls I’m dropping (like yardwork).

    Best of luck to you, Em, and keeping smiling!

  2. Hey there,

    I am so glad you have renewed spirits. Couldn’t agree with you more. Sure, my dream is to be a full-time career novelist. But I’ve loved writing stories since I could hold a pen. I was a writer before I ever got anything professionally published.

    Em- you are the true essence of a writer

  3. Awesome post! I would say the same thing…just keep on writing.

    I love the poem, too!

  4. Hey C.!

    Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. The encouragement means so much to me.

    I had to smile at the part about yardwork.

    When my husband and I were clearing land and putting up the horse shelter, he took one of his weeks (vacations) and so did I (from writing/querying) and we were out there doing the shelter, and more: weeding the red rock planting beds (that need to have things planted in them, too) and cleaning up all the old hay that blows around, gets rained on, and then moulders there. Cutting up the old tree to dispose of it (fire hazard). And the list goes on and on.

    I hear you!

    I, too, let some things go in order to get as much writing time in as possible. I feel guilty about it from time to time, but life’s too short. I try to play catch up on the weekends.

    Em

  5. Awwww, Tasha, you are too kind. : )

    So are you, the true essence of a writer. It’s obvious when I read your blog.

    And it’s why I love blogging so much. I feel more like a writer when I write for this blog, than I’ve ever felt like a writer, before. I write what I want, publish what I want without gatekeepers of any kind.

    When my horse/dog chores are done tonight, I’m psyched to go read your Sarah Bernhardt post.

    And — I was thinking of you last night, as I watched the movie, The Jane Austen Book Club. It was great. I was thinking you’d like it.

    Em

  6. Thank you, Steph! : )

    And curtsies for the poem. : ) Nothing like a good poem session, to help forget all about the writing blues.

    I’m just about to have Word up and running on my laptop, of which then I’ll get back to rewriting my query. Thanks for all your awesome help so far.

    Can’t wait to SEE your new EditQuest site!! Hooray!

    Em

  7. Hi, Em. I am so grateful that you found my post about writing last night and that your comment led me here. Your posts about writing are exactly the type of inspiration I need right now. Thanks so much for your generous spirit and words of wisdom! I’m really looking forward to visiting your blog a lot in the future. : )

  8. Thank you, Starlight, for your comments and kindnesses. : )

    Anything I have, I’m happy to share, especially with my fellow writers. : )

    I added you to my blogroll, and I too look forward to reading more posts on your site!

    Big welcomes!

    Em : )

  9. Thanks for adding me to your blogroll. I’m going to add you to mine, too. Aside from the great writing here, I know some people who MUST see your photographs! : )

  10. Thank you Starlight! : )

    Awwww shucks, lol.

    Em

  11. Em – nice to have your company on Query Road, and off it, as well! I’m in the “I’d write anyway” category, and like you I have to constantly remind myself of that. Keep the words flowing, keep on sending out the queries, and never forget that many very famous authors submitted manuscripts for a very long time before somebody finally published them.

  12. Hello Uppington! : )

    It’s nice to have your company on Query Road, too. It takes at least two to have a rest stop picnic, right, especially if you want to play frisbee. : )

    Thank you so much for your encouragement. It means a lot to me! I will keep reminding myself of what you wrote above — I’m going to do a post later on that very subject — the three years of rejection for A Wrinkle In Time, one of my all-time favorite books.

    Hope your day is awesome so far. I’m about to go back out in the sun (still over one hundred degrees, here) and finish pulling the goat heads (what we call these prolific little burrs) out of the horses’ manes and tails. There’re all over the place, lately!

    Em

Leave a Reply

