What Made Today, Today.

 

 

the clouds pulled long and lean,

feathered like angel wings.

a one-legged dove

counting fifty hops from fence to fence

but flying most gracefully, 

in thanks. 

dust devils fleshing out the air,

a fly arriving on a horse’s ear,

children playing in a yard somewhere.

someone looking for their dog.

butterflies waltzing with the wind

and songbirds on tour.

clever rabbits grasping straws

that fall like leaves from towers of hay.

the sky the bluest eye you’ve ever seen,

twinkling with the joy of unborn stars.

 

(Poem and photos by Emily Murdoch)

5 Responses

  1. Hi Em,

    Morning to ya! 🙂

    I always love reading your poetry. In this one, I especially like the line, “clouds pulled long and lean”. What an interesting way to look at them.

    Here is a link of a photo I think you’ll like:

    http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2008/11/crystal-giants/crystals-photography

  2. Awwww, thanks, Tasha. : )

    The poems just come over me.

    Let me go look at the photo/link and I’ll report back.

    Em : )

  3. Lovely, Em! I especially enjoyed the last lines: the sky the bluest eye you’ve ever seen, / twinkling with the joy of unborn stars.

  4. Thank you, Steph! : )

    I like those last lines, too. I have to say the sky was as blue as the blue in my blog header.

    : )

    Em

  5. Hey Tasha!

    Big WOWs on that photo link you included.

    WOW!

    I can’t believe those are people in there! The massiveness of those crystals took my breath away — thank you for showing me that — it’s *amazing*!

    Em

Leave a Reply

