Got Muse? A Writer-To-Writer Meme.

heartspenandpaper

 I’ve always found it interesting to read about how other writers write. What motivates you to the page, and what keeps you away? How does creativity strike — do you write when inspired, or stick to a daily word count? 

Many of us are interested in those behind-the-scenes peeks at the creative process and the unique way it unfolds for each writer. The Meme I cooked up below is quick, easy, and fun. I hope you’ll join in and share your writing process with us. 

Got Muse? A Writer-to-Writer Meme: 

1) Where do you write?  

2) When do you write? 

3) Planner or Pantser? 

4) Coffee or tea? 

5) Pen and paper, or computer? 

6) What gets you in the writing mood? 

7) What pulls you out of the writing mood? 

8 What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever read/heard/received? 

9) Got muse? 

10) Who is the biggest supporter of your writing?

11) Sound or Silence?

Instructions: Please answer the Meme with a post on your blog, and reference the original link:   Got Muse? A Writer-To-Writer Meme. Leave the link to your Meme in my comments section, so we can go read it!

I’m hoping for a collection of writers and their processes, all in one place, that writers can connect with and draw inspiration from as we toil alone in worlds of our own making. I plan to post a link (here in this post) to a new page that will list all participating writers and their blog addresses alphabetically. 

My answers are below. 

1) Where do you write?

 Usually I write at the kitchen table, the bar type, although I also write on the porch in the rocking chair, overlooking the horses and the wild beauty of the desert. 

2) When do you write? 

I write whenever I can, in between animals, chores and errands, especially if I’m in the middle of a novel. But mostly, I write at night; the coolness and quiet allow me to get deeper into flow. 

3) Planner or Pantser? 

Pantser with a capital P. I may have a story overview in mind, but where it takes me, it takes me. 

In my experience, writing is the art of letting go and allowing the story to breathe and develop through me. It’s why I feel as if I channel stories as opposed to writing them. 

4) Coffee or tea? 

Coffee most definitely, when I’m writing. 

5) Pen and paper, or computer? 

My laptop is like an extra appendage. I’ve worn the finish off where my hands rest as I write. Computer all the way, although my first three novels of yesteryear were written out in notebooks. The only ink I’d use was black, and only one pen: a Pentel EnerGel .7mm gel pen. It’s still the only pen I use. (I find it interesting that it matters so much.) 

6) What gets you in the writing mood? 

Good books, good movies, light bulb moments. I do more writing when life isn’t one big emergency after another, and there’s nothing like someone else’s work-on-fire to spark the fire of creativity within me. 

7) What pulls you out of the writing mood? 

Sadness. Stress. Anger. Tiredness. 

8 What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever been given/read/heard? 

Just write. (Two simple words that say it all.) 

9) Got muse? 

Definitely. I credit the universe and nature for being my biggest inspirational benefactors. 

10) Who is the biggest supporter of your writing? 

My husband, although I also have friends and writer friends who have encouraged me along the way, and still do. For them, I am forever grateful. 

11) Sound or silence?

Sound. When I’m writing drafts, I listen to all kinds of music: our FM stations, various cds, and XM music such as reggae, classical, 40’s, 80’s, 90’s. I also love nature music cds, with the sounds of thunderstorms, birds, rainfall, water lapping against lake shores, etc.

I prefer music without words when I’m editing, so it’s mostly classical music during those times.

 Click here: What Exactly Is A Meme, Anyway?

Books

49 Responses

  1. Hey Em!

    That was fun. I posted over at my blog: http://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com

  2. Found my way here from Tasha’s blog. Nice survey. I’ll post my responses on my own blog soon.

  3. Ooh, I like this. I’ll steal, er, borrow this for my blog soon! Cool answers — my laptop is a third arm too. 🙂

  4. Thanks for doing the Meme, Tasha! : )

    I updated the post with instructions, and added an 11th question, just to give you the heads-up.

    Also, number 8 is missing its end parens because wordpress kept turning it into a smiley face!

    Em

  5. Thanks, Ralfast.

    I updated the post with an 11th question, too, and also added instructions.

    I can’t wait to read yours!

    Em

  6. Hey, ElanaJ! Steal away! : )

    I updated the post with an 11th question, besides adding instructions, too, just to give you a head’s up.

    I was just headed over to your blog, to see what you’re up to.

    Em

  7. […] 18, 2009 in author, writing tipsTags: tips I found this meme at Got Muse? and felt it might be fun to […]

  8. This is a fantastic idea. I love reading about other writers and their process of creativity as well. Enjoyed reading your and others’ answers to these. My schedule has gone completely crazy recently but I will do this soon and link back to this post.

  9. Hey Venus! : )

    I’m loving reading others’ responses, too. I especially find it interesting how, even though we’re all writers, the process can be so different between us.

    As for crazy schedules, I hear you; and I look forward to reading your answers when you get the chance to post them!

    Em

  10. […] Saw gypsyscarlett’s and ralfast’s answers to these questions posed over on Left in my Write Mind and decided to give them a crack […]

  11. Hi Emily — came across this through gypsyscarlett and ralfast. Have posted my answers on my blog also.

  12. Awesome, Isaac!

    I look forward to reading both your and Ralfast’s answers …

    Em : )

  13. Cool, Ralfast!

    And thanks for taking part in this. I look forward to checking out your answers.

    Em

  14. Hi Frootbat — love your very cool name, by the way. : )

    Thanks for checking out the Meme and for stopping by my blog!

    I look forward to reading your answers.

    Em

  15. Hi Em!

    This was great! I found this on Isaac Espriu’s site and followed the links. 🙂

    I’ve got mine up here: http://randomwriterlythoughts.blogspot.com/2009/06/got-muse-writer-to-writer-meme.html

  16. Thank you so much, Carol, for stopping by and for taking part in the meme! : )

    I plan to put a link in this post to a new page listing all the writers and their blog links alphabetically.

    I look forward to reading yours!

    Em

  17. Awesome, Venus! I can’t wait to read your answers!

    I can’t wait to catch up on your blog posts, also. Things have been crazy around here, too, and I’ve really missed reading your posts.

    Em

  18. […] Got Muse? A Writer-To-Writer Meme. Shamelessly reposted from Lefty In My Write Mind. […]

  19. Emily, I found your blog through Google Alerts; I have one set with Richard Dawkins as the subject, and it picked up your post about memes; I’m glad to say that this has been a terrific find! Chalk one more up for Professor Dawkins.

    http://suijurisreverie.wordpress.com/2009/06/21/got-muse-a-writer-to-writer-meme/

    Michael

  20. Thanks, Michael, and thank you so much for taking part in the Meme! : )

    I can’t wait to read yours, and to check out your blog.

    The best part about this Meme has been discovering new blog sites and meeting other writers through it.

    Em : )

  21. Beautiful Blog, thankyou for doing this and explaining what a meme is for me. I will do the questions soon. In Australia, about to go to bed.

  22. Awwww, thanks, Stillinheaven. And you’re welcome.

    I recognized you from Tasha’s blog — I look forward to reading your Meme, and checking out your blog.

    Wow, to be in Australia! Too cool! Is it winter now, for Aussies?

    Em

  23. Hi! I saw this on Isaac Espriu’s Place and was directed to come here to join in! This was a lot of fun.

    Below is the link to my entry!
    http://farseeingfairytales.blogspot.com/2009/06/progress-and-writer-to-writer-meme.html

  24. Welcome, Bettielee. : )

    Thanks so much for joining in, and I’m so glad you had fun!

    I look forward to checking out your blog and your Meme. It’s wonderful to meet new writers! : )

    Em

  25. I’ll be back. It’ll be up tomorrow, hopefully. http://thegingerbreadninja.wordpress.com

  26. Awesome Gingerbreadninja, and so is your name! Too funny!

    I look forward to checking out your blog and your meme. I can see from my stats that many people who posted memes are also checking out other writers’ answers. Pretty cool.

    Em

  27. […] Please answer the Meme with a post on your blog, and reference the original link:   Got Muse? A Writer-To-Writer Meme. Leave the link to your Meme in my comments section, so we can go read […]

  28. Here you go Emily. I was referred here from some dark vampiric blog that no doubt is written by someone really very nice.

    http://josephgrinton.wordpress.com/2009/06/24/see-emily-play/

  29. […] this questionnaire thing on Bettie’s blog, and she found on Isaac’s blog, who found it somewhere else. It’s pretty fun. Made me think about the […]

  30. hey i saw this in a link on facebook.
    here’s my contribution.

    http://firetiger18.livejournal.com/8461.html

  31. Well, that was more fun than I though it would be.

    Thanks.

    http://mycocaine.wordpress.com/

  32. Thanks to everyone for participating, and thanks to all future participants!

    Very cool, the peeks into everyone’s writing worlds.

    Writing a mass thank you here, to spare everyone from me saying the same thing over and over. But, I’m excited so many are participating. It’s going to be a cool collection, and a way to discover more writing blogs.

    Makes me smile to see writers having fun. : )

    I look forward to checking out your blogs, and reading your memes!

    Em

  33. Brilliant meme. Tons of fun!

    Posted here: http://madeofcarbon.blogspot.com/2009/06/got-muse-writer-meme.html

  34. just what I needed to keep the funk at bay today. 🙂

    http://inkandbliss.blogspot.com/

  35. That was fun! Here’s my link if anyone is interested:

    http://amandalynb.blogspot.com/

  36. All the cool kids are at it, so here’s me, joining in:

    http://scarlettparrish.blogspot.com/2009/07/got-muse-writer-to-writer-meme.html

  37. Awesome! I look forward to reading all of these! Apologies to inkandbliss for taking longer to post your comment — you ended up in my spam filter!

    Em : )

  38. I love seeing how other writers work. Awesome post!

    Here’s mine: http://valeriesloan.blogspot.com/2009/07/nifty-little-writer-thing.html

  39. That was delightfully fun — and thought-provoking. Now I’m going to read all the responses from everyone else. Thanks Emily!

    Mine is posted at:

    http://kellydpalmer.wordpress.com/

  40. I just wanted to give big thanks to all the writers who’ve so generously answered this Meme.

    I’ve been nursing a very sick horse, so I haven’t been able to “play” online (winks to Joseph Grinton : ) as much as I’d like, but I am working on the contributors page of writers and their blog addresses, and plan to read every last Meme link posted. Can’t wait!

    Big thank yous! I’m so glad people are having fun with it, even changing it up a bit!

    Em

  41. http://smsarber.blogspot.com/2009/07/got-muse-writer-to-writer-meme-got-muse.html

    Here’s my response to these fun questions.

  42. […] writing something and it’s really just a warm-up Monday) with a writer’s meme I found here on a blog called “A lefty in my write mind.” Which I am. A lefty. In my write […]

  43. Thanks!

    And thanks for stopping by. Always great to meet not just another writer, but another lefty! : )

    I’m glad you had fun with the Meme, too.

    Em

  44. […] this questionnaire thing on Bettie’s blog, and she found on Isaac’s blog, who found it somewhere else. It’s pretty fun. Made me think about the […]

  45. This is a lovely meme! Will certainly be doing it soon 🙂 Thanks for creating it.

  46. So glad you like it! : )

Leave a Reply

