Wild Foals Killed By BLM at Triple B Round-up.

 

In my previous post, I’d shared good news for America’s wild mustangs. Unfortunately, the good news was shortlived. The original stay on the Triple B round-up was overturned and is proceding as I write this, including running foals in 94 degree weather until their legs give out. At the link is a video of the round-up which is heartbreaking: horse families separated and screaming to each other; foals limping and later euthanized; water bins blowing over, empty; horses milling about, frightened, confused, their beautiful, wild life over:

Wild Horse Babies Killed by BLM at Triple B Roundup (courtesy of horse lovers and advocates, R T Fitch and Laura Leigh).

There are 30,000 some-odd wild horses left on the range, with more than that number already warehoused in government holding facilities, while millions of cattle graze the horses’ land for a pittance, a practice dubbed “welfare ranching”. The 1971 Wild and Free Roaming Horses and Burros Act protects the horses from this type of harassment. And yet, here we have a round-up resulting in multiple deaths of very young foals and more warehousing of wild horses, which under the act is both prohibited and unlawful.

 What’s the point of enacting laws that are continuously broken, disregarded and ignored? How long will this abuse and harassment of our wild horses go unchecked even by courts of law? 

I dread the day I post that the wild horses are no more. Because if the BLM under the Obama Administration continues with business as usual, that day may not be too far off.

I, for one, shall continue to do what I vowed: to use my writing to lend a voice to those without voices, whether teenaged characters struggling with hard choices, or our wild mustangs, relentlessly targeted for their land and its resources.  

Awareness is the first step toward change. Please help spread the word — so many people are unaware of what’s happening to America’s wild horses — and perhaps our voices will be heard before it’s too late.

Shooting Star, my Nevada wild mustang saved from slaughter.

2 Responses

  1. I feel your passion with regard to these majestic animals. I have posted a few posts at my web site in this regard. I also shared your post on my FB page. Maybe you can do the same with mine. I’ve written a post: Penny Politics: A Scary Thing

  2. I’m a facebook holdout, at least for now, but, let me go read. I could tweet the link, instead.

    Always nice to meet a fellow horse lover/advocate! I continue to believe what’s happening to the wild horses and burros wouldn’t be happening if more people were aware.

    Em

Leave a Reply

