The Scream Heard ‘Round The World.

Yummy Partial Pancakes.

Partial Pancakes.

Not to jinx anything, but I recently received agent requests for my YA novel, The Girl Next Door. And, the responding agents are agents from my list of “Dream Agents”.

Did you hear that scream, and wonder what it was? That was me.

O-M-G.

Presently, the first three chapters of my novel are in an agent’s hands on exclusive.

I am so excited.

I woke up late on Saturday morning and groggily kissed my husband goodbye (he had to work this weekend, too) with my face still hurting from smiling so much the day before.

He said, “There’s a surprise for you in the kitchen, almost-published writer.”

The truth was, I’d woken up in the first place because the scent of whatever the heck he was cooking had wafted into the bedroom, first waking up the terriers who then began the usual routine of licking my face and grabbing my nose to wake me up, too — all in the hopes of getting some of whatever smelled so good. 

It was Partial Pancakes!

I had one big ol’ pancake in my hand and was just about to bite down when I thought, camera! just in the nick of time.

My husband promised to give me the recipe to post here, but they’re roughly pancake/waffle batter with added vanilla, chocolate chips, sweetened flake coconut, (toasted first), cooked in the waffle thingamajig. 

I have to say, the terriers were quite disappointed when they couldn’t have a piece, due to the chocolate chips.  

Sometimes snuggling back under the covers is the next best thing.

Estrella, our morning glory.

(Estrella, who is an endless source of love and amusement.)

I know how weary a writer can get on Query Road, receiving form rejection after form rejection. Just the day before, with another Dear Author rejection in my hand, I was wondering what the heck I was thinking.

And then, the floodgate opened — out of nowhere.

There’s a life lesson in all of this, of course, because if we’re not growing, we’re not living. And the lesson is, let other people say no to your dreams, but whatever you do, don’t you be the one saying no.

You never know what fabulous things are just around the bend, my huckleberry friends, and you’ll never know, unless you tell yourself YES.  

I’m going to end this post with a little bit of “corn”, because as my good friend Carly Marchelier likes to say, a little bit of corn never hurt anyone.  

Moon river, wider than a mile
I’m crossing you in style some day.
Oh, dream maker, you heart breaker
Wherever you’re goin’, I’m goin’ your way.

Two drifters, off to see the world
There’s such a lot of world to see.
We’re after the same rainbow’s end, waitin’ ’round the bend
My huckleberry friend, moon river and me.

Moon River

(Photos by Emily Murdoch)

18 Responses

  1. […] the rest here:  The Scream Heard ‘Round The World. | Tags: chocolate-chips, roughly-pancake, sweetened-flake, the-waffle, toasted-first, waffle, […]

  2. Squeeeeee! *happy dance for you!*

  3. Tara! I know! Please pinch me real hard!

    I feel like I’m either about to laugh maniacally, or throw up, lol!

    I’m keeping everything crossed!

    Em

  4. WTG! There’s nothing like getting a request. Especially from a dream agent! Woot!!

  5. OMG!!! That’s so awesome! Congrats!!!!

    I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed that your partial turns into a full.

  6. Thank you, Elana! : )

    I’m so excited. All it takes is one agent, so, here’s hoping and praying that one of them works out!

    Em : )

  7. Thank you, Crista!

    I’m just beside myself with excitement, although, I’m also trying to be realistic in a very, very hard biz.

    But, I’m ready. I know the writing’s ready. Is it my time to shine? I hope so!

    Em

  8. Heya Em!

    Partial pancakes look delicious.

    ‘Course you’ve already gotten my zillion emails, but now that you’ve posted this on your blog, I can openly scream, “Congratulations!” and tell ya how proud I am of you. 🙂

  9. TASHA!

    : )

    I could see us jumping up and down together irl, lol.

    And, I can’t help thinking how, as soon as you had me add “parallel universe” to my queries, zoom, they took off like a rocket!

    But 99.8% — still working toward that 100%, lol.

    And, for now, I’ve shelved “recipe for reincarnation”. Might as well continue with what works.

    Funnily enough, I’m actually going through query-sending withdrawal!

    Here’s hoping for a new roof, winks. The neighbors have one, and I’m envious!

    Em

  10. What a beautiful post! I think I went through your joy in reading your experience in such simple words. Congratulations and all the best!

    I finished writing about 12 pages of my novel without even a pause in one night, then ran into a complete wall. I have written short stories for years but right now I am wondering if I will ever actually finish writing the novel. You have already succeeded beyond measure because each day there are thousands of people who wake up wanting to write something but never get around to it. Congratulations again on the request from a dream agent and all the best wishes!

    Those pancakes (and your dog) look lovely btw!

    http://venusreinvented.blogspot.com

  11. Very awesome indeed! I hope someday I’ll get to that point, even though it seems like it’s forever away….:P

  12. Hurray! I am so excited for you, and now I feel a sudden sympathetic urge to check my email and the mail box and the phone, to see if there’s any news. I’m not expecting any, either – it’s all for you, like somehow your good news is goig to end up in my hands, lol. Keep us posted!

  13. Awwww, thank you, Venus.

    Yes, the partial pancakes were wonderful, and so is Estrella. We saved Estrella from the county shelter — they thought she had kennel cough and were going to put her down the next morning, and the small-dog rescue in the area won’t take dogs with kennel cough.

    I fought for her, and they let me take her home. She was supposed to be 12 pounds-ish, and I brought her home at 4 pounds, she was so starved. : ( I had to bring her back a month later, because she was too thin to be spayed before leaving the pound.

    Now, she’s the most energetic, joyful, and loving dog we’ve had yet. She’s a real daddy’s girl, too.

    And, the kennel cough wasn’t kennel cough, but the reverse sneeze some terriers have.

    Thanks so much for your comment. I’m alternating between being over the moon, and feeling like I’m going to throw up, lol. And, since this post, I’ve had more agent requests. When it rains, it pours, lol!

    Em : )

  14. {{{{{{{{{{ Uppington }}}}}}}}}} Extra hugs for you.

    Thank you. : ) I’ll definitely keep everyone posted. It’s so exciting!

    And, you know me — anything good is only good if you share it! So, sending tons of luck your way, as contagious as the flu, and sprinkling twinkly magic dust all over your manuscript.

    Em

  15. Oooh… twinkly magic dust? Really? Somebody’s sure to pick it up then, lol!!

  16. Never underestimate twinkly magic dust, winks.

    : ) !

    Em

  17. Well – twinkly magic dust in general may be discounted safely, but your twinkly magic dust – now that’s powerful stuff! My manuscript and I thank you.

  18. Awwww. That calls for double-strength twinkly magic dust. : ) Although I have this sneaking suspicion your novel is awesome even without the t.m.d.

    Em

Leave a comment